Meghalaya delegates register votes for party president post

Shillong, Oct 17: All the 56 state Congress delegates took part in the election to the post of national president of the party, at the Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) office on Monday.

The voting time was from 10 am to 4 pm.


Though Meghalaya Congress was supposed to cast 60 votes representing 60 blocks, as four blocks in Garo Hills were not formed, the number of votes stood at 56.

Each block has one vote each.

Pradesh Returning Officer and Assam MLA Rekibuddin Ahmed said the election process was smooth and completed at 4 pm.

All the voters exercised their franchise, he added

The counting of votes will be held on Wednesday.

There are a total of 9915 Congress voters in the country to decide the future of two candidates- Mallikarjun Kharge and Shashi Tharoor.

Photo caption: RC Laloo registers his vote

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker