Border agreement reached, Assam-Meghalaya CMs to meet Shah

Shillong,Jan 12: Assam and Meghalaya have alsmost reached an agreement to resolve six areas of difference in border.

After a meeting between the chief ministers of Assam and Meghalaya on Wednesday in Guwahati, deputy chief minister Prestone Tynsong (in picture) told reporters that the meeting almost reached an agreement.


“There will be one more meeting between both the chief ministers folowing which they will meet Union Home Minister in Delhi before announcing the agreement on January 20 or 21”, Tynsong said.

The six areas of difference are Tarabari (4.69 sq km), Gizang (13.53 sq km), Hahim (3.51 sq km), Boklapara (1.57 sq km), Khanapara-Pilangkata (2.29 sq km) and Ratacherra (11.20 sq km).

Meghalaya will celebrate golden jubilee of statehood on January 21 and the state government wants to announce the agreement on the occasion.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker