Governor notifies 3 regional border panels

Shillong, Sept 7: Meghalaya Governor Satya Pal Malik has notified the constitution of three regional committees of the state to resolve the border dispute.

In the notification issued on Tuesday, the border committees were entrusted with the task of examining the present status of six areas of difference out of the 12 areas of difference with Assam.


The disputed areas are Tarabari, Gizang and Hahim in West Khasi Hills, Boklapara and Khanapara-Pillangkata in Ri Bhoi and Ratacherra in East Jaintia Hills.

The panels will have to submit the reports within 30 days based on the agreed yardsticks of historical perspective, ethnicity of the local population, administrative convenience of people, contiguity with the boundary and the perception of the people living in the area.

The Ri Bhoi regional panel was constituted under the chairmanship of Deputy Chief Minister in- charge PWD Prestone Tynsong.

The West Khasi Hills regional committee has PHE Minister Renikton L Tongkhar as chairperson while East Jaintia Hills was entrusted to Transport Minister Sniawbhalang Dhar.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker