Shillong Arm Fight concludes

Shillong, Dec 21: Arm Fight 2023, the All India Arm Wrestling Championship concluded in Shillong this evening at U Soso Tham Auditorium.


The two-day all India championship saw participation from different parts of the country.
The event was organised by People’s Federation of Arm Wrestling India in collaboration with Bouncers Association of Meghalaya and Treilang Welfare Society. The event was supported and funded by Sports and Youth Affairs Department, Government of Meghalaya.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma attended the event and witnessed the final matches in both men and women’s categories.

Chief Minister spoke at length on Government’s commitment to promote sports in the State. “In the last five years, we have made a concerted effort to promote different sports activities and have been upgrading our sports infrastructure. We have hosted several national events in the State capital like the Grandmaster Chess Tournament, which concluded yesterday,” he said.

“All Ind TV to TVwas declared as the champion of champions, while in women’s category Yogesh Choudhury from Haryana declared as the champion of champions.

Other categories also included matches between differently abled contestants from both men of which in the sitting category Hubert L Nonglait, Graham Jones Kharbani and Name Nangsan Kupar K Warjri came in 1st 2nd and 3rd place; from the standing category Johnborlang Pyngrope, Nihi Lamare and Marelad Kanai came in 1st, 2nd and 3rd . From the same differently abled category, among the women of the sitting category.

Winners among men of first, second and third prize in accordance with their weight include, Daniel Nongkhlaw, Hubert Paliar and Banshanlang Terang from the 55 Kg category. Nilay Sankar , Razedul Ali and Revel Born Star Snaitang from the 65 Kg category; Deepankar Mech, Jackson Lyngdoh and Alexion Roy Mylliem Umlong from the 75 Kg category; Tridip Medhi, Alan S Marbaniang and Kishore Chettri from the 85 Kg category; Bakham Maian Khongwir, Banbatjuban Khingwir and Ishan Kashyap from the 85+ Kg category.

Winners among women of first, second and third prize in accordance with their weight include,
Angelis Kharumnuid, Airikmen Shabong and Milartita Lyngdoh Nongbri frm the 50 Kg category;Bandarika Kharkongor, Senebi Syngkli and Angel Mary Mylliem Umlong from the 55 Kg category; Wandalin Syiemiong, Payal Bhommik and Olivia Dkhar from the 60 Kg category; Margareth Pathaw, Aiboklin Rina and Yimri Jagoi from the 65 Kg Category; Yogesh Chaudhury, Soram Rani and Ribasuk Lyngdoh Mawphlang from the 65+ Kg Category.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker