Shillong Premier League 2021-22 officially launched

SPL to begin on June 15

Shillong, June 9: The Officer’s Choice Blue Shillong Premier League 2021-22 was officially launched on Thursday.

The trophy and SPL logo was unveiled and the captains of the eight participating teams were introduced to the media.


The SPL will begin on June 15 after it was not held for the last two years.

The first match will be between Nangkiew Irat SC and Mawlai SC. Due to upgrades to the JN Stadium and work to lay an artificial pitch at the SSA Stadium at First Ground, all the matches of the first leg will be held at the MFA Turf, Third Ground, Polo and kick-off will be at 4 pm.

The trophy for the 11th season of the SPL was unveiled by Lakshya Jit Borah, representative of sponsors Officer’s Choice Blue.

Vineet Grover, Sales Director – East, Allied Blenders and Distillers, the makers of OC Blue, said, “We are very happy to return to Meghalaya with the OC Blue Shillong Premier League.

The new SPL logo was unveiled by the Chairman of the Tournament Committee,  Robert Dkhar, while SSA President Eugeneson Lyngdoh launched the promo to the season, which also acted as the launch of the league.

The Shillong Sports Association has taken  the initiative to livestream the games this year via T7. The public can also follow the league’s latest updates through new, dedicated social media pages of the SPL on Facebook and Instagram.

A few young footballers of Meghalaya who had  gone on to play in the I-League and Indian Super League, namely Aiban Dohling, Phrangki Buam, Shaiborlang Kharpan, Kynsailang Khongsit, Denzil Kharshandi and Rupert Nongrum, were present besides two other youngsters- Halen Nongtdu and Ricky John Shabong-who have gone on to play for the Indian national youth teams.

Eugeneson thanked the SSA for the work it has done in pushing football forwards in Shillong.

“When I was 8 years old I came to watch my father play on this ground. At 18 I came to play here myself and now at 35 I am an official in the SSA. It is important for the fans to be engaged with the sport”, he said.

The SPL will operate on a pure league basis – ie there will be no playoffs or final. After two legs – 14 games per side and 56 overall – the new champions will be crowned.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker