Curious case of five border villages

Headmen demand inclusion in Meghalaya

Shillong, May 16: Five villages in West Khasi Hills which were shown as part of Meghalaya in the report of the regional committee headed by Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar, did not find place in the final MoU between Meghalaya and Assam but ironically Assam survey has acknowledged them to be part of Meghalaya.

In this context, the headmen of five villages, Namtarabari (Balsrik), Watre Rongchong, Borsum, Garojan and Damrangkona led by former MLA Francis Pondit R  Sangma (in picture) recently met the Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and stressed the need of their inclusion under Meghalaya.


The headmen also submitted a representation to the chief minister in this regard.

According to the headmen, the regional committe on border dispute had recommended for the inclusion  of 13 villages under Meghalaya.

They are Tangkula, Doini, Chiginde Daporpara, Balkam, Tarabari (Upper Tarabari),Chradunu, Rangket, Namtarabari (Balsrik), Watre Rongchong, Borsum, Garojan and Damrangkona falling under the Tarabari section.

However, the headmen pointed out that out of 13, only eight villagers were included as belonging to Meghalaya in the final MoU inked between Assam and Meghalaya leaving the five villages though they are part of Meghalaya.

They pointed out that this is creating confusion and a sense of despair among the people.

Assam survey pillar from Jarihat bazar to Garojan and 13 villages are under Meghalaya

Curiously, as per the boundary pillar erected by Assam Survey, based on the report of the regional committee, the five villages are in Meghalaya.

They urged the chief minister to include the five villages in the MoU as being part of Meghalaya and pay a visit to the area.


Map prepared by the traditional heads

Pondit Sangma asked the chief minister to follow the stand of Mizoram chief minister who did not part with any portion of land to Assam.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker