Durand Cup Trophy 2023 unveiled in city

Shillong, July 21: The 132nd Durand Cup Football Tournament will be held  from August 3 to September 3.

Organised under the aegis of the Durand Football Tournament Society (DFTS), whose President is the Chief of Defence Staff and Vice-Presidents are the three Service Chiefs. This year’s edition witnessed an unveiling of the three iconic Durand trophies, at the State Convention Centre Shillong, by Chief Minister Conrad Sangma on Friday.


Addressing the gathering on the occasion, Sangma said, “I first of all would like to thank general Sanjay Malik for having agreed to have this programme here today to unveil the trophies. I am happy and satisfied that we will be one of the hosts for 2024 Durand Cup, and while we do that, large infrastructure is being created in many parts of the state. So when 2024 approaches, we will be fully ready to host you in the best possible manner”.

Also speaking on the occasion, Lieutenant General Sanjay Malik, General Officer Commanding 101 Area, complimented the sporting culture of the Northeastern region and highlighted that for the first time, Shillong Lajong Football Club will be participating in the Durand Cup and it is in the fitness of things that the trophies are also being unveiled at Shillong, for the first time. The Senior Air Staff Officer of Eastern Air Command ,Air Marshal Tejinder Singh , senior military and civil officials were also present.

The three trophies viz the Durand Cup Trophy and the Shimla Trophy (both rolling trophies) and the President’s Cup (for keeping permanently) were taken on a grand tour of the city. The engaging public display culminated with a celebration at Khyndailad, with musical performances by a local band and by the Jazz band of the Army. The presence of players of Shillong Lajong Football Club was memorable for the crowd and the overwhelming public support, greatly enthused the players.

Shillong Lajong will be playing their first match on the evening of  August  4 against the Northeast United FC at Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati.

The 15 cities tour of the three Durand trophies was jointly flagged-off on Jun 30, from Delhi by General Manoj Pande,Chief of Army Staff, Air Chief Marshal VK Chaudhari, Chief of Air Staff and  Kalyan Chaubey, President, All India Football Federation (AIFF). It is covering Dehradun, Udhampur, Jaipur, Pune, Mumbai, Karwar, Ezhimala, Kochi, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kokrajhar, Guwahati, Shillong, Kathmandu and Dhaka.

This edition of the Durand Cup will have 24 teams, up from 20 last time. All 12 Indian Super League (ISL) sides are taking part in the matches and the final will be played at Kolkata. Service teams from neighbouring countries of Bangladesh and Nepal, will also be participating in the tournament.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker