Haryana shivers at 3°C; dense fog in northern states

Pune, Dec 22 (UNI): The lowest minimum temperature of 3°C was recorded at Hisar in Haryana, the India Meteorological Department said on Wednesday.

At 8.30 am on Wednesday, dense fog was observed in isolated pockets over north Punjab while shallow fog prevailed in isolated pockets over Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Saurashtra and Kutch.


During the same time period, following visibility (in meters) was recorded at Ludhiana-50 and Amritsar, Delhi (Palam and Safdarjung), Aligarh, Bareilly, Lucknow, Fursatganj, Jamshedpur, Naliya and Bhuj-500 each.

While, cold wave conditions prevailed in some parts over Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, east Rajasthan, west Uttar Pradesh, Telangana and Vidarbha.

Yesterday, cold day conditions prevailed in isolated pockets over Madhya Pradesh.

Night temperatures were above normal (1.6°C to 3.0°C) at many places over Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura; at a few places over Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh, Gilgit, Baltistan and Muzaffarabad; at isolated places over west Rajasthan.

They were markedly below normal (-5.1°C or less) at many places over Odisha; at isolated places over east Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, coastal Andhra Pradesh and Yanam; appreciably below normal (-3.1°C to -5.0°C) at most places over Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh; at a few places over east Uttar Pradesh, west Madhya Pradesh and Vidarbha; at isolated places over Gangetic West Bengal, west Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Chandigarh, Delhi and interior Karnataka.

They were below normal (-1.6°C to -3.0°C) at many places over Gujarat Region, Rayalaseema, Andaman and Nicobar Islands; at a few places over Jharkhand, Saurashtra and Kutch; at isolated places over Himachal Pradesh, east Rajasthan, Madhya Maharashtra and near normal over rest parts of the country.

Rain or thundershowers occurred at isolated places in Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura.

Mainly dry weather prevailed in Arunachal Pradesh, Assam and Meghalaya, Sub-Himalayan West Bengal and Sikkim, Gangetic West Bengal, Odisha, Jharkhand, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Vidarbha, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat region, Saurashtra and Kuch, Konkan and Goa, Madhya Maharashtra, Marathwada, coastal Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Rayalaseema, Tamil Nadu, coastal Karnataka, interior Karnataka, Kerala, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker