North East

Himanta takes oath as 15th CM of Assam

Guwahati/New Delhi, May 10 (UNI): Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday took oath as the chief minister of Assam in a function held in Guwahati.

The oath of office was administered by Governor Jagdish Mukhi at Sankardev Kalakeshtra at a ceremony attended by limited guests. Along with Sarma, 14 Cabinet ministers were administered the oath of office.


Sarma has replaced the outgoing chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal in the earlier BJP government in the state.

BJP, along with its alliance partners UPPL and AGP, won 72 seats — which is eight seats more than the magic figure of 64 needed to form the government on 126-member assembly.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Sarma on taking oath as 15th Assam chief minister. He also congratulated other ministers who took oath on Monday.

Taking to twitter, Modi said, “Congratulations to @himantabiswa Ji and the other Ministers who took oath today. I am confident this team will add momentum to the development journey of Assam and fulfil aspirations of the people.”

At the oath-taking ceremony, BJP national President JP Nadda and other leaders were also present.

Several chief ministers of northeastern states attended the swearing-in ceremony.

During the meeting of BJP elected legislators on Sunday, Sonowal proposed Sarma’s name as leader and unanimously, he was elected the leader of BJP Legislators.

Praising Sonowal, Modi said in another tweet, “My valued colleague @sarbanandsonwal Ji was at the helm of a pro-people and pro-development administration over the last five years. His contribution towards Assam’s progress and strengthening the party in the state is immense.”

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker