Jan 15 deadline to resolve border dispute

Shillong, Dec 22: Meghalaya and Assam have decided to take a final call for resolving the six areas of difference  between the two states before January 15.

This was decided at the border talks held between Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma at Guwahati on Wednesday.


The regional committees constituted by both the states have visited all the six areas of difference to take the views and opinions of the people residing along the interstate border.

The six areas of difference include Tarabari (4.69 sq km), Gizang (13.53 sq km), Hahim (3.51 sq km), Boklapara (1.57 sq kms), Khanapara-Pilangkata (2.29 sq kms) and Ratacherra (11.20 sq kms).

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, Deputy Chief Minister Prestone Tynsong said that the regional committees from both Assam and Meghalaya have been asked to submit their reports to the respective chief ministers before December 31.

“Thereafter, on or before January 15, both the chief ministers will take a final decision on the outcome of the reports submitted by the regional committees of both the states,” Tynsong said.

He also expressed happiness that the Assam chief minister and Meghalaya chief minister are determined to resolve this long pending issue which has been there for the past 50 years.

“I am thankful to the Assam chief minister, who is so serious about the issue,” he said.

Tynsong said, “If we cannot resolve all the six areas at least some areas I am very sure and confident we are going to resolve on or within January 15.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker