Prestone panel on Ri Bhoi border wants inclusion of 10 villages under Meghalaya

'No intention to claim all areas in Assam part of erstwhile Khasi states'

Shillong, Jan 20: The report on areas of difference related to Ri Bhoi border said that the government does not intend to claim  all areas in Assam which formed part of erstwhile Khasi states/territories but desires to retain only villages and areas of sector 6 & 8 which are geographically contiguous to the Khasi states .

According to the report of the regional committee headed by deputy chief minister Prestone Tynsong, the sector 6 & 8 are supported by maps and documentary proofs as a pragmatic approach to resolve the inter-state problem.


The sector 6 (Bokhlapara area with 1.57 sq km) includes Bakhlapara, Jimbrigaon,  Lynkhung and Hawla.

The sector 8 (Khanapara-Pillangkata) has 0.6 sq km and the areas are Barapathar, Koinadhara,Maikhuli,Patharkushi,Pillangkata and Khanapara.

The recommendation of the committee is to physically demarcate the boundary with boundary pillars, natural boundaries and other permanent marks by including the villages/habitations and the uninhabited areas of sector numbers 6 and 8 under the administrative control and territorial jurisdiction of the KHADC in accordance with para 20 of the sixth schedule to the constitution for permanent settlement.

The committee wanted the publication of  revised inter-state notification in this regard.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker