Speaker recognises merger of 12 Cong MLAs with AITC

Shillong, Dec 23: Assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh on Thursday recognised the merger of 12  Congress legislators with All India Trinamool Congress (AITC).

The MLAs are Mukul Sangma, his wife Dikkanchi Shira, daughter Miani Shira, brother Zenith Sangma, Winnerson Sangma, Marthon Sangma, Lazarus Sangma, Jimmy Sangma, Charles Pyngrope, Himalaya Shangpliang, George Lyngdoh and Shitlang Pale.


The legislators had handed over the letter of merger on November 24.

Later, the Congress had challenged the merger and sought disqualification of the MLAs.

The order of the Speaker said, “I am satisfied that the merger of the 12 members of the Indian National Congress is valid as provided unde paragraph 4 of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India, and does not attract disqualification.  I do not find any merit in the submissions made in the petitions filed by Dr. M. Ampareen Lyngdoh,MLA, and therefore, the same is hereby dismissed”.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker