State waits eagerly for poll results; counting to begin at 8 am

Shillong, Mar 1: The countdown to the much-awaited results of the elections to 59 out of 60 Assembly seats has started.

Counting of votes will start at 8 am on March 2 in 13 counting centres across the state.


Polling was held on February 27. The overall poll percentage was recorded at 85.51%.

“All necessary arrangements have been made in respect of counting tomorrow. We have 13 counting centres across the state – 12 in all district capitals and 1 in Sohra Sub-Division,” state’s chief electoral officer (CEO) FR Kharkongor said on Wednesday.

He said 22 CAPF companies have been retained for purposes of ensuring 24X7 safeguard protocols in respect of the strong rooms containing the polled EVMs of 3419 polling stations in the 59 poll going Assembly constituencies and will stay on till March 4 for any post poll contingencies/exigencies.

“There will be 3-tier security arrangements with CAPF guarding the innermost layer and State armed police will keep vigil of the 2nd & 3rd tier,” the CEO said while informing that the counting centres are all placed under CCTV and Web cast surveillance during the entire period.

He informed that there will be a total of 383 rounds of counting, with a maximum of 9 rounds for the biggest AC Mawlai in East Khasi Hills District and 4 rounds for smaller ACs like Dalu in West Garo Hills District

“ Counting will initially begin with the Postal ballot count for the first 30 minutes followed by counting of polled votes in the EVM Control Units,” he said.

West Garo Hills District counting centre caters to 11 assembly constituencies and is the second largest counting centre in the state.

The Election Commission has deployed 27 Counting Observers and over 500 micro observers will also assist the Counting Observers at each table. Each table will be equipped with a Counting Observer assisted by 4 Counting Assistants.

The CEO informed there were cases of non-deletion of mock poll date in 7 polling stations – 1 in Khliehriat, East Jaintia Hills, 1 in Rambrai, West Khasi Hills, 2 in Songsak, East Garo Hills, 2 in Salmanpara, South West Garo Hills, 1 in Mylliem, East Khasi Hills.

“In the above polling stations, the DEOs & ROs have been directed to strictly follow ECI protocols on counting,” he said.

Further, Kharkongor said also post counting of EVMs, 5 polling stations will be selected at random, through draw of lots and manual counting of 5 randomly selected EVMs will be undertaken as per ECI protocols.

Additionally, concerned DEOs have issued necessary orders pertaining to traffic arrangements & victory processions post counting in respect of their concerned districts, he added.


Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker