Two state teachers receive awards from President

Shillong, Sept 5: The President of India, Droupadi Murmu conferred national awards on teachers from across the country at a function held at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi today on the occasion of Teachers’ Day.

From Meghalaya, Timothy Jhones Dhar and Madhav Singh received the  award 2023 from the President.


Timothy Dhar is an instructor for Mechanic Motor Vehicle in a Govt. Industrial Training Institute, Shillong. Since the last 25 years,  Dhar has been imparting advanced practical training despite limited resources. He is using his innovative mind and techniques in his method of teaching. Because of his dedication his trainees have received excellent employment opportunities in various motor factories and workshops both in and out of the state of Meghalaya. His contribution is commendable as his trainings have been helping his students find their way to success. Some of his trainees have secured very good positions in All India Trade Test exams. He also received Kaushalacharya awards during 2019-20. He has a patient and positive attitude and never shies away from challenges.

Singh, who is a Science teacher at Alpha English Higher Secondary School, Ri Bhoi, expressed his happiness on receiving the award. Singh is a resource person in National Children’s Science Congress and is actively involved in popularizing science among young children. As a coordinator of Green club, he is instrumental in organizing environmental protection activities. He has also authored a book on health education. He received the State best teacher award in 2021. Singh termed his achievement as a remarkable one and expressed his gratitude to everyone. He said, “Well I am very much excited. The day when I received the message that I am getting National Teachers’ Award 2023, I got emotional. I thank God for this wonderful achievement and dedicate this Award to my parents, my Principal, Vice- Principal, teachers, colleagues, my dear students, my village people (Nongpoh), Ri Bhoi District and all the people of Meghalaya for this recognition given and it is all because of people of Meghalaya.”

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker