Cabinet nod to extension of 5th pay commission facilities to ad hoc college teachers

Shillong, Dec 13: The state cabinet on Tuesday decided to provide pay under the fifth pay commission to teachers of seven ad hoc colleges.

The government said earlier the grant-in-aid was provided to the 7 ad-hoc colleges- Raid Laban College, Women’s College, Tikrikilla College, Durama College, Mahendraganj College & Sohra College against a particular post where 75% is provided by the government and 25% by the managing committee. However, they were not receiving pay under the 5th pay commission.


The cabinet has decided after much deliberation that the 5th pay commission recommendation is applicable to them and hence, the arrear amount will be cleared which will have a financial impact of Rs 11 crore for the last 4.5 years.

Govt nod to 12 new people’s colleges  

The cabinet has also accorded approval and sanction for 12 New Peoples Colleges in Meghalaya.

They are Thomas Jones Synod College, West Jaiñtia Hills District, Abong Noga College, West Garo Hills District, Khraw Sing Christian College, East Khasi Hills District, Ri War College, East Khasi Hills, Loyola College, East Garo Hills, Balawan College, Ri Bhoi District, Mawsynram Border Area College, Selsella College, Seng Khasi College, Shillong, Mendipathar College, North Garo Hills, Sngap Syiem Memorial College, West Khasi Hills and Tikrilkilla College, West Garo Hills.

Posts for engineering, architecture colleges

The state cabinet on Tuesday approved the sanctioned posts for Shillong Government College of Engineering & College of Architecture & Planning, Tura.

With the approval and after necessary procedures, the government is hopeful to start the 1st academic session by July 2023.

Williamson Sangma University

The cabinet has also approved an ordinance to rename Capt. Williamson Sangma Technical University to Capt. Williamson Sangma State University.

Since Meghalaya does not have a state university and all colleges are affiliated to NEHU, Cabinet felt necessary to change the Technical University to a State University and allow colleges within the State to have the opportunity to be affiliated to the new State University.

BA & B Com courses 

Cabinet has decided to initiate BA & B Com courses by creating 39 posts & other non-teaching staff posts in the College of Teacher Education, Tura.

This is being done as per the New Education Policy which requires colleges to have multidiscipline courses and hence in order to enable the College of Teacher Education to move forward in line with NEP, these courses will commence.

Medical Recruitment Board

The cabinet has approved the amendment to the Meghalaya Health Service Rules and included the Meghalaya Medical Service Recruitment Board in the rules so that the MMSRB can function and conduct necessary exams & recruitment for vacancies in doctors’ posts in the State.

MPSC empowered 

Cabinet has approved the delegation of financial powers under Schedule IV for the Meghalaya Public Service Commission to ensure the commission functions smoothly.

Previously, the MPSC had to take permission for small expenditures and this decision will give them the financial independence on such matters.

Compensation to dead prisoners

The National Human Rights Commission has directed different state governments for compensation on deaths of prisoners and based on its directions, the cabinet has approved the compensation which will be notified.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker