NationalNorth East

Congress shines in Himachal, rejected in NE

Rahul congratulates party workers; BJP & ally win all 5 seats in Assam

New Delhi/Guwahati, Nov 2 (Agencies): The Congress on Tuesday suffered a big jolt in the byelections in three northeastern states but saved its face in Himachal Pradesh.

MP Rahul Gandhi credited the party workers for the grand old party’s performance in the byelections, especially in Himachal Pradesh where it won all four seats, and urged them to continue fighting “hate” without fear.


Taking to micro-blogging site Twitter, the Congress leader posted, “Every victory for the Congress is a victory of our party worker. Keep fighting hate. No fear! #BypollResults2021.”

The Opposition Congress in Himachal Pradesh won three Assembly constituencies and one Parliamentary seat, giving a major setback to the ruling BJP ahead of the 2022 Assembly polls.

However, in the northeastern states of Assam, Meghalaya and Mizoram, the party drew a blank.

The BJP succeeded in most of the seats. The scheduled byelection in Nagaland was evaded as the ruling National Democratic Progressive Party candidate S Keoshu Yimchunger was declared a winner unopposed from Shamtorr-Chessor assembly seat. Currently, there are no Congress-governed state in the region.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) nominee K. Laldawngliana defeated his nearest rival Pu Laltlanmawia (from Zoram People’s Movement) in Tuirial constituency by a margin of 1,284 votes. Congress’s Chalrosanga Ralte found himself in third place.

In Assam, all five seats were grabbed by the BJP and its political ally United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) defeating the Congress candidates in each constituency. Other losing parties include All India United Democratic Front of Assam, Bodoland People’s Front, Gana Suraksha Party, Communist Party of India.

All the three winning BJP candidates abandoned the Congress and AIUDF recently that necessitated the byelections in Thowra, Mariani and Bhabanipur constituencies.

Sushanta Borgohain, a former Congress legislator, won in Thowra seat defeating Dhaijya Konwar (an independent candidate) by a margin of 30,561 votes. Another former Congress MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi succeeded in Mariani seat defeating Congress’s Luhit Konwar by a margin of over 40,000 votes. Similarly, a firmer AIUDF legislator Phanidhar Talukdar won from Bhabanipur constituency defeating Sailendra Nath Das (Congress) by a margin of 25,641.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker