Naxal IED claims 11 in Chhattisgarh’s Dantewada

Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), Apr 26 (UNI): In a dastardly assault that ended a long period of relative dormancy, Naxals deployed an improvised explosive device to target a returning armoured patrol vehicle within Aranpur area on Wednesday afternoon resulting in the martyrdom of 11 security personnel on the spot and injuries to a hitherto-unspecified number in this highly restive district of Left-wing extremism-affected Bastar division.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi wrote in social media, “Strongly condemn the attack on the Chhattisgarh Police in Dantewada. I pay my tributes to the brave personnel we lost in the attack. Their sacrifice will always be remembered. My condolences to the bereaved families.”


Inspector General (Bastar Range) Sundarraj Pattilingam confirmed the incident, which resulted in a wide crater owing to the sheer magnitude of the blast. The vehicle itself was blown to smithereens.

Union Home Affairs and Cooperation Minister Amit Shah wrote in social media, “Anguished by the cowardly attack on the Chhattisgarh Police at Dantewada. Have spoken to Chhattisgarh’s Chief Minister and assured all possible assistance to the state government. My condolences to the bereaved family members of the martyred jawans.”

Ambulances and a heavy force were rushed to the scene, which lies within a forest approximately 50 km from here.

Expressing grief over the loss of life in the ‘cowardly’ attack, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel told media representatives in Raipur, “The rebels are jittery as the conflict against them is in the final stage and they have been pushed onto the back foot. Therefore, the Maoists are making a desperate bid to register their presence. However, the counterinsurgency campaign shall be accelerated and the ultras will not be spared irrespective of the cost. Establishing peace in Bastar is my dispensation’s foremost objective. My thoughts are with the bereaved families.”

Parliamentarian Deepak Baij – representing Bastar – also expressed condolences and discussed the issue with Mr Shah.

The deceased were identified as head constables Joga Sodhi, Munna Ram Kadti and Santosh Tamo; constables Dulgo Mandavi, Lakhmu Markam, Joga Kawasi and Haririam Mandavi; undercover operatives Raju Ram Kartam, Jayaram Podiyam and Jagdish Kawasi besides driver Dhaniram Yadav.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker