Chapter 1 of XC Meghalaya Challenge concludes in city

Shillong, Dec 19: The Meghalaya Cycling Association (MCA) concluded the first XC Meghalaya Challenge, Chapter I on December 18.

The event was held at Malki Forest in the city to mark the beginning of a new chapter in the field of cycling as a sport. The race was flagged off by Cabinet Minister James Sangma.


The race witnessed a promising number of cyclists, both male and female, who projected their dedication throughout the event. The race was divided into four categories — Elite Men, Junior Men, Sub-Junior Men and Open Women.

To create a space for younger riders and open the sporting discipline to young kids as well, a non-competitive Open Category was included.

The category saw four riders with basic BMX cycles ride the race route full of life and potential. Altogether, 57 riders from South West Khasi Hills, West Garo Hills, East Jaintia Hills and East Khasi Hills registered for the race.

The Elite Men and Junior Men shared the same 5km race route, starting from Malki Forest, ascending to Laitkor and back. While the Sub-Juniors and Women Open shared a shorter 1.9km race loop within Malki Forest.

After the recently concluded 18th National MTB Championships held in Alandi, Pune from October 29 – 31, 2021, MCA has taken upon themselves to continue having races, and training workshops to identify potential riders from the state and represent the same in higher cycling levels.


The list of winners in each category:

Elite Men : 3 Laps

Kevin John Khyllait – 1:13:49 (One hour, thirteen minutes and forty-nine seconds)

Pynshngain B Lyngkhoi – 1:19:18

John Rynthathiang – 1:24:39

Juniors Men:  2 Laps

1: Thrangskhem Pariong – 55:13 (Fifty-five minutes and thirteen seconds)

  1. Pynshailang Khyllait – 57: 31
  2. Aaron Kharpuri – 59:51

Sub-Junior Men: 3 Laps

Dameshwa Warjri – 20:59 (Twenty minutes and fifty-nine seconds)

Mackamazing Khyllait – 21:18

Rangkhrawbor Khongsit – 21:23

Open Women: 3 Laps

Balasiewdor Wahlang – 26:31 (Twenty-six minutes and thirty-one seconds)

Antareekhya Dutta – 29:11

Tipriti Kharbangar – 29:54

 Open Category

 Aibok Osmond Kharkongor

Aiban Jyrwa

Khiathew Daiar

 Special Prize

 Rozario Niangti – for being the youngest competitor at 11 years old.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker