Cabinet panel on border to visit areas of difference

Shillong, Aug 15: The joint committees of both Assam and Meghalaya headed by cabinet ministers have decided to visit the six areas of difference shortly.
Addressing the gatherings at the Independence Day celebrations on Sunday in the city, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said the joint committees headed by Cabinet ministers from Meghalaya and Assam will conduct inspection of the six areas of the first phase namely, Tarabari, Gizang and Hahim in West Khasi Hills, Boklapara and Khanapara — Pilangkata in Ri Bhoi and Ratacherra in East Jaintia Hills.
He said the inter-state boundary with Assam has been a long pending issue. Meghalaya shares 884 km boundary with Assam. There are 12 areas of difference between the two states that need to be resolved, he said.
“Both the state governments are keen to discuss and bring about a long-lasting solution. To take this forward, I held two meetings with the chief minister of Assam. We decided to take up six out of the 12 areas of difference in the first phase and the remaining six areas in the next phase,” Conrad said.
He said the state government is committed to finding an amicable solution to the boundary dispute with Assam. “Law and order situation along the Assam-Meghalaya inter-state border is normal except for a few incidents, which have been addressed immediately”, he added.
The chief minister also released a book titled “Celebrating India@75”, a collaborative effort of the Department of Arts and Culture and the Synod College Management Authority and the Meghalaya Freedom Song, commissioned by the Department of Arts and Culture, in commemoration of 75 years of India’s Independence.
The chief minister also felicitated the health workers and front line workers who have been working tirelessly in the fight against the Covid-19 and handed over the citation on their behalf to Dr. R. Tariang, Dr. P. Manners and Dr. Robert Marak.

The Chief Minister also handed over the awards under the Megha Health Insurance Scheme (MHIS) and Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana (PMJAY) to Mawsynram CHC and Laitlyngkot PHC and Diengiei PHC for the top performing CHC and PHCs. As part of the celebrations it was announced that the president police medal for distinguished service is awarded to  Heimonlang Nongpluh, Additional  Director General of Police (SB/CID), the police medal for meritorious service to  Manoj Singh, UB-Sub-Inspector, Computer Wing PHQ, Meghalaya,  the Union Home Minister’s medals for excellence in investigation to Anurag Kumar, IPS, Dy. Inspector General of Police (WR), and  Shri Banraplang Jyrwa, Deputy Superintendent of Police (City), East Khasi Hills, police medal for gallantry to constable Dansing Lyngkhoi, UBSI. Ahmed Ali Sheikh, UBSI. Tony M Sangma, constable Tushar FN Marak, UBSI. Ronald Life Snaize Nongrum, U/Lnk Prem Bahadur Chetry, constable Farewell Sohshang and constable Luckystar Lyngdoh Nonglait, the fire service medal for meritorious service to  Cleverest Marbaniang, Fireman and  Stalinshon Wahlang, driver constable  and Home Guards & Civil Defence medals  for meritorious service to Social Dkhar Havildar (HG) and  Romulus Pynbhalang Khongwar Senior Staff Officer (HG).


Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly Disable Ad Blocker